top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Silva

DBC Blog: First Post

Welcome to the DBC blog!


I'm Megan Silva, the creator of Delta Book Club. I am a student at San Joaquin Delta College. I am majoring in Digital Media and am currently working as a piano teacher and an intern at KWDC. Two jobs and a full load of classes has kept me busy, but I still find time to read and play music. I am relatively new to radio work, prior to this January I had been majoring in Theatre. I have been acting since I was four years old and have been in 47 local productions. Though theatre will always have a special place in my heart, I am loving finding my voice and saying my own words on the radio. I began this show as a project for the Fundamentals of Audio Production class. I was only required to make one episode, but I had a lot of fun so I kept going.


This show is inspired by the book journal I have been keeping since high school. My goal was to get to one hundred books by the end of my senior year. I met and surpassed that goal, and decided to keep keeping track of my reading. I often color code (or add emojis in the phone version) to document my thoughts on a book. Books that elicit a strong emotional response will get a paragraph or two in the physical copy of the list.


I decided to go with a 3-part format for my half-hour show because I want to be able to feature several stories within the span of an episode. My goal on this show is to talk about stories you may have heard of, and some stories that (in my opinion) don't get enough love. Some of these stories aren't in novel form. Some are poems, plays, or even songs.

On the subject of music, almost all of the music you'll hear on the show is played by me. I play piano, guitar, and ukulele and have been singing for many years. This decision started off as an accident as I couldn't figure out how to import mp3s into Audition, but later grew into an intentional choice as I feel that performing the music myself is a way of telling a story. Just as everyone interprets literature differently, everyone interprets music differently as well.

Delta Book Club airs every Thursday at 12:30pm at my college's radio station: 93.5 KWDC. My current schedule for creating the show is that I write the script on Sunday, record the music on Monday, record the speaking on Tuesday, edit and submit by Wednesday morning. With my semester being as crazy as it is, I am often recording this show at around two in the morning! (That's when I took this picture). Despite the late hours, I love working on this show. Reading has always been a safe space for me, whether it creates a sense of escapism or provides information about how the world works. I am very excited to share that with you and to talk about the stories that made me who I am today.


Thank you so much for tuning into my show! Feel free to comment below any questions you have or any books you'd like to recommend!



7 views0 comments
bottom of page